top of page

One week from Summer

Boy is this year flying by, it seems the older we get the faster time goes. Our first part of April was spent on the road visiting family and friends. We went to Houston and visited with my cousins and aunt. While there, we made it to the nursery and was able to get some succulents to care for, I have yet to kill them (fingers crossed). Last week I repotted them with better soil and found a cute little planter at the dollar tree. My most favorite new friend we got is called a string of pearls. I also got some clippings from a plant my grandfather adored. All of his daughters have grown multiple plants from his one and now my cousins and I are continuing the tradition from a plant the family has had for close to 100 years now. It's called a night blooming Cerus, which is actually a cactus. It kind of reminds me of the plant on "Dennis the Menace". I remember as a kid staying up as a family anytime the bloom was about to open, some nights everyone would accidently fall asleep and miss it. Once the bloom closes the fragrant goes away as well.

After our trip to Houston we came home, rejuvenated our bags and headed for North Austin to see a friend Mrs. Evelyn who we met in Colorado. We got to stay in her 100 year old farm house that had character pouring from its ears. The girls love Mrs. Evelyn and we all enjoyed our visit and the many home-made apple pies we got to eat. On our way back home we swung by Tyler's cousin's to squeeze and hold the newest member of the family, one of the babies I knitted little socks for which he has already outgrown! Seeing that little baby makes me appreciate the time I had with the girls as babies. In the midst of diaper changing and sleepless nights you think its never going to end. Then you start seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, soon all of a sudden you got almost a teenager and they're going off to camp in a few short weeks.

The day after we got back from Austin I got a phone call of an answered prayer that my brother wanted to reconnect with the family so we packed our bags and headed to Louisiana for a few days to hug his neck and enjoy his company. We haven't had much contact with him in over 10 years. God is always working around us whether we see it or we don't, but when it shows itself it just is so amazing. Regardless of the multiple days living out of a bag and "couch surfing" we had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the company and hugs from our loved ones. I forgot to mention during the travels the girls got to go to their first concert ever! We got to go see the Surfaces live in San Antonio at the Aztec Theater. The group is so talented and was very impressive to watch them conduct an entertaining show for us. The girls held in strong since it started later in the night but I'm sure they will remember that forever!



We are about a week away from Summer break and I am a little scared we will go crazy after a week or two. Then camp will come and we will all get some time apart which is much needed. This weekend I went and found the only trout fishing in Texas and am hoping to hit the river next week with Tyler on his first legit days off that he's had since January 1st. I think we are now more open to bass fishing and we are eager to try and target small mouth in the many rivers around here. We may also drive around the area and look at properties as we contemplate living in South Texas more and more. I don't know why we are here and why we love it so much. I'm sure God's hand is at play right now so we are just praying that His will be done and put us where He wants us. Its hard giving up all these Earthly desires! Something we are learning more and more each day.



As I sign off I hope everyone is doing well and that you are all happy and excited for this summer! I hope you all make tiny little goals for yourself each month and have the discipline to follow through with them, baby steps to awesome!!! Thats my cheesy inspirational line for y'all today LOL!

29 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page