top of page

Museum of natural history


I had mentioned that we went to Houston and waited out hurricane delta. We got to visit with family I haven't really spent any time with since I went to the Marines. While in Houston we visited the museum of natural history. The girls were in a full-blown sprint almost the entire time. They enjoyed it so much. They didn't care much for the Egyptian section that held real mummys. It truly is amazing how that culture was to me so advanced at the beginning of human history. They had established language, government, currency, and a weird way to preserve their dead. As I looked around I was really amazed mankind has been able to keep these artifacts safe for such a long time. Especially being located in an area that is known to get hit with natural disasters.

As the girls blew by I liked strolling through the precious gem exhibit, seeing how sophisticated some of the jewelry was back then. All I could think was wow people were barely living past the age of 50 and here they were making masterpieces with tiny little jewels. I thoroughly enjoyed the Faberge exhibit. I think the girl's favorite exhibit was the seashell section with beautiful intricate shells from all over the world. Each one had a number by it, they would go to each case and say which number was their favorite. As Alice doesn't know her numbers very well she would follow behind and just blurt out a random number which was by far the cutest thing ever. I'm so happy they can appreciate literally anything and see beauty in it. I hope they keep that.

Maybe one day they'll slow down enough to read the detailed placards on the walls by the exhibits. Until then I'll just slowly drag behind them as I try and speed read the information I hunger for. Nature is so mesmerizing. Humans are so exquisite and have done a fabulous job trying to fill all of our hunger for knowledge of our Earth. Walking around I realized how little I know about everything. Like the dinosaurs, for instance, so much information I know so little about it, that when I did read I was totally lost on the time frame or era. Seeing evolution right before my eyes with real bones of different species. A very humbling experience. I can't wait till the girls are old enough to browse with me and drink in the knowledge the people before us discovered.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page