top of page

Graczkowski's on Vacay!

Updated: Jul 14, 2022

I know what you're thinking, " Aren't y'all always on vacation?". Technically, yes? but we haven't really taken a vacation that didn't involve fishing, hiking, and hours in the truck exploring new territory, I feel like when we are in our traveling mode, we are nonstop going. Even here in South Texas we have been pretty busy. So, it was nice to rent a condo and just relax for a few days without many expectations.


The girls had their spring break early, we went to the gulf in Corpus Christi and met Tyler while he had a couple of days off. Though the weather wasn't exactly beach weather and was rather windy and cold, it helped us slow down and enjoy being inside a full-sized house which we had to ourselves. We always enjoy visiting family and friends and usually stay for a week or a month at their houses. We love the company and hospitality, most of all Tyler and I both enjoy having access to a full-sized kitchen.


This is the first time in almost three years that we got a house to OURSELVES. I'm not going to lie it was very refreshing and enjoyable. Each one of us thoroughly basked in our own space while having access to Netflix and TVs in the bedrooms. Most mornings were spent lying in bed watching tv and eventually would migrate downstairs when we started getting hungry. We probably watched more tv than we have ever in 10 years, I had to keep reminding myself that we were on vacation and that it was ok.


Saturday was our busiest planned day. Tyler did a wonderful job coordinating the entire day for us. He his planning went about and beyond our expectations. We started the day off at the Texas State Aquarium. As we have been to several aquariums across the US we've been a bit spoiled but this one held its own and was very nice. Side note, if you are ever in San Antonio and pass the aquarium there, it lacks in many aspects to say the least. But this one in Corpus was top notch, we got to see an awesome dolphin show where we could tell these animals are clearly cared for and loved. We worked up an appetite and went to eat at a seafood restaurant near by ( another treat for us since we don't eat out much). I think I have learned my lesson that you never eat crawfish outside of Louisiana because it was a bit disappointing but wanted to give it a shot.


After dinner, Tyler had organized a surprise for me. He even told the girls and they were actually able to keep it a secret for SEVERAL DAYS! All day I had been trying to figure it out with no avail. It was 7 o'clock at night and we took a beautiful drive down the coast line that brought us to Corpus's main expo center. Which added even more confusion, Tyler was even surprised by how many people showed up. Standing in line still clueless I see kids walk by with ice skates on and the light bulb went off. We were about to see our first live hockey game! I've been trying to make an effort getting involved in a sport that Tyler and I both would enjoy since I absolutely loathe the NFL. So I decided to start watching hockey and love the sport now. I have yet to pick my favorite professional NHL team, well I did but then was told I cannot cheer for a Canadian team and I can stand by that. That night the semi pro teams playing were the Corpus Christi Rays and the Louisiana Mudbugs!!! I didn't even know Louisiana had a team so it was nice to watch them whip up on the Rays.



Seeing that sport live has given me even more respect for its athletes and the sport as a whole. It was fun watching grown men get slammed into the glass and throw punches all night long. Alice did not enjoy the loudness of the game or the screaming that went on during it, but the rest of us loved it. One of the staff even gave RaeLynn a puck that got knocked over the glass. Other than Saturday the rest of our trip was pretty laxed. We visited a nearby church and heard a wonderful sermon from a Baptist pastor who actually.....get this.....acknowledged science! It was refreshing to hear someone preaching on subjects like space and the fine tuning of our Earth.


The last two days were spent relaxing, cooking some glorious meals and walking on the beach in search for sea shells as the girls let the waves chased them back and forth. RaeLynn was adamant to feed the seagulls before leaving. So I tore up a French bread we had left over and we packed the trucks and drove on the beach to say our farewells. I may have been pooped on and we may have went against one of our golden rules of DONT FEED THE WILDLIFE. Nonetheless we enjoyed our few moments before we went our separate ways as Tyler had to return to work and we had to go back to Gonzales. It was nice to take a few days and not do much, cook some good food and take many long showers.



This trip did make me miss Charlie, actually anytime I am by water it makes me miss him because of how much he loved to swim and get wet. Sad yet grateful I did not have to deal with getting the sand off of him. I pray everyone of y'all are doing well and becoming better individuals each and every single day. God is so good to us whether we believe he is our creator or not, He is blessing us every time we open our eyes. I remember my 7th grade math teacher would say the cliche slogan of "today is the first day of the rest of your life "every single morning. Don't let this Earthly world bog you down and don't believe anything the alphabet people say.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page