top of page

Dems Hominy Grits Sir

Not a lot of folks care for grits. While out West its extremely hard to find them, these people don't know what they're missing! I had to order some online and I went with Geechie Boy Mill out of South Carolina. They set the bar above Quakers instant grits, like really, who would even want instant grits! The most common name when it comes to this southern delectable meal is Jim Dandy grits.

I love that scene from "My cousin Vinny" when Joe Pesci sits down in a country dinner in the south and orders breakfast. The cook delivers a plate and Vinny continues to grill the cook about the his over usage of lard and the origin of grits. Classic. It's basically cornmeal boiled in water. Now its becoming a delicacy around the world. Shrimp and grits its a common rec

We really...I mean REALLY like grits. Its one of the few meals my kids eat without putting up a


fight. We like to eat ours with fried eggs, bacon, cheese and green onions. I didn't say it was healthy & it definitely could be worse. Last week we made some while T was home and I added some fresh french bread with butter, garlic and herbs de provence and let me tell you....YUM. A decided to scoop some on top of her bread and placed a piece of bacon on top. The perfect bite. So venture out and try your hand at some grits, you wont be disappointed.


23 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page