top of page

Creole toppings

Well everyone knows the south is notorious for their red beans and rice. Louisiana loves to kick it up a notch to give it their natural creole flare. Im not going to be giving away all the secrets to my homemade red beans and rice but I can let you in on a little secret topping we like to slap on top.


I went to research it, and cant really find much information on what we like to call "hoppin johns". What I gathered from a quick search is that hopping johns is actually a Carolina version of red beans and rice made with black eyed peas and ham hocks. What I grew up knowing and loving as hopping johns is diced up onion, tomato drenched in white vinegar and oil with a dash of salt and pepper. It pairs really well with the red beans and rice with a side of slightly burnt garlic bread.



Its better to let it sit in the fridge a few ours and pickle a bit before using. I love taking an extra scoop of vinegar with mine. It may sound a little bizarre but I promise those cajuns dont play around when it comes to making delicious creole food. I hope some of you try this recipe out, you can generally find Zatarains red beans and rice kits at walmart that "aint half bad".


21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page