top of page

Crossing the rainbow bridge


We lost our beloved Charlie yesterday morning. We picked him up from the kennel and was told he didn't eat or move much. Tyler carried him into the trailer and he laid in the same spot pretty much till he passed away. His mobility and health had been declining for several months now. He had to be carried in and out of the trailer every day because his hips caused him issues. While in Colorado he was still spunky but in pain. He got a chance to swim in the river one last time. Getting old is never easy and watching him go down in health was hard but we knew his time was limited.


He will forever be in our hearts. I got Charlie my senior year of high school. So he's been with me and our family for all of my adult life. Painful and sad do no justice to this feeling inside. It's much deeper than that. He was loved by many. He's known around the country by all our closest friends. All the texts I've received were so heartfelt and the most common thing I heard was that dogs lives are simply too short. In all honestly if they lived any longer than their typical lifespan their loss would be so much harder, God has atleast spared us from more time with them.



So many things cross my mind to be thankful for. Im happy he held on for us to say goodbye. He didn't pass alone on a concrete floor in a strange kennel. I've also been preparing myself to have to take him in and put him down in a room full of strangers while we said our goodbyes. Instead he died in my arms with his family surrounding him. He died of natural causes and undoubtedly had the greatest life a pup could ask for. He helped raised our children. So many blessings. So many memories.


I've lost my fishing partner. While fishing alone with the girls I knew they'd be safe with him standing guard. If I got in the water he was always right there with me. So concerned for my well being. Life on the river will be alot different now but I'm sure Schmore will do a fine job of keeping watch.



I can only imagine the reunion my mom and him had in heaven as he crossed that rainbow bridge. I'm sure it was something similar to when I graduated boot camp and I sat on the table. He came walking up not even noticing me till he got hit with a wave of my scent and went berserk and tackled me to the ground. Another memory I hold close to my heart.


I could go on and on talking about our sweet Charles, but I'll spare you the feelings. Thank you to everyone who reached out to me and all those in our lives who willingly welcomed us into their homes with open arms, dog hair and all.


Our laptop is on its way to get repaired and I can't wait to write about all our adventures this summer. Until then I hope everyone is staying healthy and happy.

101 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page