top of page

13 miles to heaven.

Updated: Aug 11, 2020



I was searching on a recreational app when I came across a hiking trail with an interesting comment. "5 lb cutthroats in the lake" my ears perked up. The trail itself is 13 miles round trip. I decided to take the girls to see what we would come across. The begininng of the trial brought you high above the creek. Then you make your way down into a beautiful flat with over hanging aspens. This trail mid-September im sure is breathtaking once the aspens change colors. Without knowing what to expect we found a tight little creek covered by willows and downed trees. I believe the furthest we made it on the trail was almost 3 miles(6 total). We visited several times, many hikers passing by said that the snow was still very deep, closer to the lakes. Lacking the proper equipment I decided to take a break and not push the girls too hard. I would love to get the whole family up there but some times you just have to accept certain things. Maybe next year we can push a little further.


This creek was very technical and very difficult to fish. Most casts were conducted by using my rod as a bow and shooting the fly into the only small little opening available. If you could get your fly in there they were going to aggressively snatch it under and then you were met with another challenge. Trying to land this nice fish, in a tiny space with lots of obstacles to break you off. I mostly fished with a brown foam ant, I tied myself, no big deal or anything. :) We brought Tyler back with us and had the same amount of success. Each pool held one or two beautiful cutthroats. This was my first time coming in contact with true wild native trout.


This creek is a challenge, which I prefer. I'd much rather fish the streams no one else takes the time to learn. I'd rather catch one of these 14-inch wild cuttys than go fish the gold medal waters only a few miles down the road that fishermen from all over the country flock to because you know...it makes them look good on Instagram. That is the world we live in today. So commercialized, no intimacy. We've watered everything down to a Walmart .

I hope everyone is staying well and remember you are intellectually capable to knowing what is best for you and your family's health, not your local, state or federal governement.

29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page