top of page

Unsocialized Homeschooled Children

As the news continually tries to control America with fear by poking the Russian bear with a 10 ft pole, trying to instigate a war, we lived life on the simpler side and visited a local brewery for our schooling that day. The K. Spoetzl Brewery has brewed every drop of Shiner Bock beer since 1909, the brewery itself was beautiful and pristine.

Every time I talk to people about homeschooling, their one question is "how do your kids get to socialize?" and I always respond with the fact that they know how to hold down a conversation better than most adults. They know how to stay engaged and are so inquisitive when they meet new and interesting people. I, myself don't understand how people think children locked inside a school 7 hours a day from the age of 6 to the age of 17 are "more socialized" than mine. Peers who have yet to experience much outside those walls. Contrary to popular believe most homeschool kids are very socialized and thrive beyond those in public schools. This astigmatism is a thing of the past that people struggle to understand.

We loved the tour, the girls were able to get beverage tokens as well, of course nonalcoholic ones. They each chose to get root beer and thought they were the coolest kids there, which they were literally the only ones there so I guess that would makes the statement true. They all were very quiet and listened intently to all the scientific information the tour offered. Our favorite part was the packaging room. All the computerized machines working at a miraculous speed to get their beer out into the world.

After the tour we played cornhole and washers for a few hours enjoying the beautiful warm sun. The girls climbed over all the picnic tables outside and created their own little game while Tyler and I enjoyed our last beers. It was so nice to visit while enjoying ourselves and doing something adult like in the company of our girls. When we got home Tyler and I threw together dinner which consisted of filet mignon from the local butcher.

We saw this butcher off the highway when first coming into town. His beef prices can't be beaten, and they make an effort in packaging everything so beautifully. There's something about supporting a small business that gives me so much pride. While the meat was priced well below market in store, it was of higher quality. Even if we pay a little more for local products, I know that money will go right back into the economy and will in return make a full circle back to us in some small way.

We are really enjoying South Texas and its mild winter. I have researched some of the local rivers, specifically the one that holds huge, stocked rainbow trout. I desperately need to send in my fly rods for repair. I believe in one week 4 rods were broken this fall. A brutal blow to us anglers. Hopefully I can send them off and get them back before leaving this area. It seems like Tyler will be working nearby for a few months, so I believe I have some time. Thank y'all for reading about our adventures and enjoying this lifestyle with us.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page