top of page

Makers of Things


Now that I'm back in the mountains and walking distance to a trout stream, our creative juices have started to flow. While Colorado has lifted mask mandates. People are getting vaccinated while the rest of us continue with life unafraid. Freedom is liberating! The girls were dabbing in their .99 cent watercolor set, all 4 of us just swishing away. I was dishing up yummy meals. They built crazy lego towns, followed by a few farm scenes with their Schleich barn that they are obsessed with. While painting this week, I realized women have always been good makers of things. We make beautiful meals, we make our beautiful homes and we make beautiful tiny future adults. The cornerstone of women's DNA is God and his creation. So with the theme of crafting and God's love, I wanted to share some of our recent creations.

A crafting endeavor I was on while in Louisiana, was a box of perfectly cut denim squares. The last time I was home before my mom passed, I told her I could sew her this quilt. She wanted it a specific way hence why she labeled each square. She had wanted to make this quilt for years. I had given her my sewing machine while we were in the trailer. Then she got sick and was spending weeks at a time in Houston for treatment, that was when she started cutting her denim squares. I knew how much that quilt meant to her so I took the time to make it during our stay in Louisiana. Each square laid out exactly in the order my mom wanted. It felt good to finish with help from my amazing aunt and niece. This quilt is massive and huge, and heavy, and glorious. I'm so happy with the outcome. I also had a stack of smaller denim squares remaining which I turned into 2 small lap quilts for the girls. RaeLynn assisted in sewing hers for a school project. These two still haven't been finished, technically...I still have to tac it all together. A long process I'm not patient enough for right now, I got trout to catch! Here are the pics of the quilts.


I've also have been knitting a bit. I found a free, cute fingerless mitt pattern. So far I've knitted two of the girls their wool gloves from this, I have Marlei's left to knit & I hope to get started this next week. I need to figure out sizing to make adult ones for us parents! We also went on a two week bieng tye dying everything we could find which was fun for all of us. Much like tyedye the girls have also fallen in love with watercolors.We've been painting away the past few weeks enjoying just being together. Adjusting back to life on the road. Everything becomes simple again....sort of.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page