top of page

Friday's truck ride

We decided to load up and go check out a certain creek we have yet to fish. The last attempt to fish this creek we were met with unbearable high winds after a 3 hour trip in. We found ourselves ready to try again after our third day trapped in the trailer due to terrible weather. Watching the radar we decided to hit the road in hopes to get to the creek right when the rain stopped. We almost timed it perfectly but did not take into account the temperature drop that would occur with elevation change. Rookie mistake.

So we head back to fish one of our favorite creeks. The hail storm and rain had the deer and elk moving around. The temperature was now 70 with no wind. Perfect. Excited by all the animal sightings we were expecting to see a bear. Unfortunately, we did not. You can't have your cake and eat it too I suppose.


We pull off and inspect a possible dry camping spot right by the creek. Got out, rigged up with a stimulator. T walked down stream and fished back towards the truck. I carried the girls across the creek to the open field so I could keep an eye on them. Fished two beautiful runs that I know held fish. Crossed the girls again to a bank with river rock, great work out. Tied on a salvation that was about 20 inches below my stimulator. I saw this long glide with a perfect bubble line. When in doubt fish the bubble line, generally that's where the bugs are getting pushed to and the fish are feeding in that slot.


First cast, the stimulator went down at the bottom of the run. Beautiful German brown. Then I had a little fish come up and hit my dry fly twice. Almost slapping it out of the water. Teasing me. I hooked in to another brown twice in the same spot, he didn't try again, bummer.

As I'm moving up the run, I hear one of the girls screaming for dear life. Turn around and M is waist deep in a fast water holding on to a bush for dear life. I throw down my rod and take off. By the time I reach her she managed to pull her self out, freezing cold and scared. We all circle around and console her. I convinced her to dry out in the sun and just catch her breath. I promised we would leave after I catch one more fish. Dad showed up and re-insured her she was ok. T and I meet back up at the run and I was able to pull another beautiful brown out. His coloring was just absolutely incredible.

I've never seen so many red spots on a brown before. Its crazy how different their patterns vary from fish to fish. Like a finger print. Every fish that comes through our hands is unique and comes with its own story. Such a blessing to share the water with these fascinating creatures.



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page