top of page

Chomping at the bit.

As I sit outside enjoying this cool morning breeze in the swamp. The temperature is around 73 and feels like a breath of fresh air. I feel like a thoroughbred waiting for the gates to fly open so I can race towards the freedom of our outdoors. Chomping at the bit to break loose into my Eden. When the outdoors becomes your chapel you feel suffocated by city life. Begging for that reconnection, I've been going back and forth on whether to go spend fall in Colorado or stay in Louisiana for hunting season. We are getting more tolerable temperatures so I think we will be able to start dry camping in the next two weeks.

My dad and I went to the national forest to assess the storm damage. Like we thought it was devastated. I doubt Louisiana has the money to remove any of the fallen timber. It was interesting to see because we are so familiar with that forest, Driving by and seeing the sun reach spots we've never seen reached. Wondering if any of the wild horses had been injured and trying to imagine them hunkered down while pine trees are snapping off at the stump all around them.


The girls enjoyed running around the woods and Charlie was revived back to life instantly. We visited our old swimming holes which are all silted in now but none the less the girls wanted to jump in and play, eager to be one with the creek again. I was so thankful to see how clean the main swimming spot was. Someone had posted a sign asking to pick up trash and take it out when you leave. A few years before that area was unbelievably trashed out with beer cans and litter. The girls and I picked the trash and left it in a pile and it was enough to fill a whole trash bag. I'm so thankful the place has now been taken care of and is almost pristine, a rare find in Louisiana woods. I have a bad taste in my mouth from the locals here. They literally drive the dirt roads at night, getting drunk and just tossing beer cans out. They will literally dump entire garbage bags out or house furniture. Real gems down here.

After walking two of the trails I came to the realization that hunting is going to be extremely challenging with the downed trees. I don't have a lot of hunting experience so I could be wrong. I just see the difficulty in trying to track down a deer with him leaping over huge trees every 20 yards. I don't know what to expect for squirrel season. Most of their homes have been knocked down, I'm sure they have reestablished new nests by now. I'm excited for the opportunity to hunt in Louisiana again.

I grew up duck hunting and squirrel hunting, though I was too scared to shoot a shotgun in the duck blind, I still went and enjoyed the atmosphere of it all. There's nothing like watching your dad and brothers call in a group of ducks, wings cupped. After the first morning rush, my dad would cook everyone a beautiful breakfast with eggs, bacon, and some slightly expired powdered donuts. Duck hunting is a huge part of Louisiana's culture. Kids would show up at school with their boat lodged in the back of their trucks, ready to hit the lake as soon as the bell rang. Our school was notorious their makeshift duck blind built into the bleachers, during football games everyone had their duck calls and would become loud and obnoxious when the visiting team had the ball. The TV show duck dynasty is a pretty spot-on example of the type of culture I grew up in. If you enjoy podcasts and have some type of faith I highly recommend Phil and Jase Robertson's podcast named " Unashamed". It is saturated with Louisiana culture and strong faith with good wholesome stories, either about hunting or missionary work.


Tyler and I are dabbling into the knowledge of America's gun world. Planning on becoming more efficient with our conceal carry. The multibillion-dollar industry sure has blossomed in the past few years. I haven't been into guns very much but am a firm believer in the second amendment. I do not go anywhere without my concealed. Now since researching, I realize I need to be more responsible with it. Practicing drawing my weapon and holstering it, then simply becoming more comfortable while firing it. Confidence is key. We are ready to learn and teach. Teaching our girls is our number one goal for our time spent in Louisiana. We want them to know and understand the power behind the weapon. We fully believe the more knowledge and confidence they gain from efficiently firing a gun the less likely they are to misuse one. RaeLynn has taken to archery easily and really enjoys the sport. Her birthday is coming up and we are planning on getting more practice arrows so she can really focus on her form and shot.

Hopefully soon I will have some content for the blog about hunting and gun safety. The good weather is almost here *fingers crossed*. Until then thank you for joining us here. Register to vote. Love your family. Do something nice for someone. Pray for our country and OUR president. I also ask if you have time to look into the pebble mine that is being pushed for in Alaska. You can find info here at www.savebristolbay.org. Please if you feel inclined write to President Trump and voice your opinions on the matter. If you think this mine will not affect you, you have been mistaken. Just take the time to gather some information and come up with your own conclusion about America's potential biggest mine which will be located near irreplaceable resources. The last frontier is at risk of being destroyed.





Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page